Choose the course and immigration sequence together
A computer science course should make academic and financial sense even if you do not obtain a permanent job afterwards. Compare the credential, institution, teaching language, total cost and documented permission after graduation. The countries below illustrate different systems; they are not ranked by an invented success score. Most provisions reviewed here concern international graduates who need immigration permission. If you already have residence or free-movement rights, use the rules for that status. Before accepting a place, write down the route you would use to study, the application needed at graduation and the conditions of a later employment permission.
IRCC: PGWP duration and programme restrictions German federal portal: residence after university graduation
Germany: a conditional job-search period after graduation
After successfully completing university studies in Germany, third-country graduates can apply for residence for up to 18 months to look for qualified employment. It is not automatic: the official guidance requires proof of completion, health insurance and a secured livelihood, and says to apply before the study permit expires. During this period any type of job is permitted; the job-search permission is not renewable. Finding a qualified offer can allow an application for a suitable employment title. For your CS plan, distinguish the temporary income that pays rent from the qualified role and evidence needed for the next residence application.
German federal portal: residence after university graduation
Canada: confirm PGWP eligibility before choosing a CS credential
A Canadian designated learning institution is not, by itself, a PGWP guarantee. Check the eligible programme and the general conditions, including study status, application timing and the location of study. Bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral graduates under the current rule need CLB/NCLC 7 language evidence in all four areas; they have no field-of-study restriction. Other credentials may have a field-of-study condition. Duration is also conditional: qualifying master’s programmes of at least eight months can support a three-year PGWP under the provision effective from 15 February 2024, subject to all requirements and passport validity. A PGWP is not a permanent-residence award.
IRCC: PGWP eligibility by credential IRCC: PGWP duration and programme restrictions
Netherlands: the orientation year is a temporary bridge
The Netherlands offers an orientation-year application after qualifying study or research. An accredited bachelor’s or master’s degree completed at a Dutch higher education institution within the preceding three years is one of the listed bases. The permit lasts one year and cannot be extended. During it, employment does not need a separate TWV work permit, and self-employment is also allowed. If you find a job and want to remain afterwards, you must qualify for another residence purpose. Foreign-degree access has additional institution and evidence conditions; an overseas CS qualification is not automatically treated like a Dutch degree.
Ireland: the award level changes the graduate permission
Ireland’s Third Level Graduate Programme covers qualifying Irish-educated non-EEA graduates and has registration, application and overall time-limit conditions. A Level 8 award can support twelve months. A Level 9 or higher award can support up to twenty-four months, but permission is granted for twelve months initially; renewal requires evidence of appropriate steps towards suitable graduate employment and compliance with the overall limit. Treat the second period as conditional. The scheme’s purpose includes seeking graduate-level employment and an appropriate employment permit or research hosting agreement. Do not equate this permission with automatic Stamp 4, citizenship or long-term residence.
Australia: check age and qualification before relying on subclass 485
Australia’s Post-Higher Education Work stream generally requires applicants to be 35 or younger when applying. Specific applicants using a research master’s or doctorate, or holding Hong Kong or British National Overseas passports, can apply under the stated under-50 exception. Ordinary stay periods are up to two years for bachelor’s and coursework master’s qualifications, and up to three years for research master’s and doctoral qualifications; nationality-specific provisions differ. The former select-degree two-year extension has ceased. A CS course title does not recreate it. Check the actual stream, credential, age at application and remaining visa requirements before treating future graduate work permission as part of your plan.
Budget for the course rather than an unsourced country average
Obtain a current written tuition schedule for the particular institution and intake, including mandatory fees and refund conditions. Add housing, health insurance, travel, application charges and the evidence of living funds. Germany’s federal study guidance currently gives €11,904 for a blocked-account example in 2026, with a scholarship or declaration of commitment as other evidence options. This amount is not a promise that it will cover your actual city or course costs. Paid work is conditional: Germany’s guidance states up to 140 full or 280 half days annually, while eligible Canadian students currently have a 24-hour weekly off-campus limit in regular terms. Do not build a budget that requires exceeding permission.
German federal portal: study visa and work conditions IRCC: student off-campus work
Plan the point where temporary permission expires
Compare the next application while you still have time to choose a suitable course and prepare documents. Ask what job, sponsor, salary, qualification or other evidence would be needed and what happens if you cannot secure it. Keep a funded return option. The practical value of a CS programme depends on its curriculum and your employment prospects as well as immigration conditions; this review does not establish university rankings or a likelihood of hiring. Use the questionnaire to organise your study goals beside recorded programmes, then verify the course and route with the institution and immigration authority before committing tuition or travel costs.
German federal portal: residence after university graduation IND: orientation year residence permit Ireland ISD: Third Level Graduate Programme
Questions before acting
Which country is best for studying computer science and staying?
There is no universal winner from these rules. Compare the actual degree, funds, age, language and next employment route. The guide provides documented differences rather than a success ranking.
Do German graduates automatically receive eighteen months?
No. Eligible third-country graduates must apply and prove successful completion, health insurance and a secured livelihood. The official job-search permission is not renewable.
Does every Canadian CS course qualify for a PGWP?
No. Check the exact programme’s PGWP eligibility and your study conditions. A school being a DLI is not sufficient, and credential categories can have different field-of-study rules.
Can a short Canadian master’s lead to a three-year PGWP?
The specific master’s provision allows qualifying programmes of at least eight months to support an application for a three-year PGWP, subject to all eligibility requirements and passport validity.
Is Ireland’s two-year graduate permission unconditional?
No. A qualifying Level 9 or higher graduate receives twelve months initially, and the further period depends on the scheme’s renewal and overall time-limit conditions.
Do Australian computer science graduates still get a two-year STEM extension?
The official changes page says the select-degree two-year extension has ceased. The current stream has ordinary stay periods and specific exceptions; a CS title does not automatically provide an extension.
Does a post-study work permit guarantee permanent residence?
No. Post-study permission is temporary. A later employment, settlement or permanent-residence application has separate conditions, and obtaining a degree does not prove those conditions are met.
Corrections in this revision
The previous version included statements without sufficient direct support. This revision removes or corrects:
- Removed invented review of 178 student pathways, university quality rankings and country success ranking.
- Removed unsupported tuition, salary, living-cost and total-cost comparison tables.
- Corrected Germany automatic post-study visa claim to conditional residence application and replaced 120-day work claim with current 140/280 guidance.
- Removed old Blue Card salary and 21–33-month claims; settlement not reviewed or promised.
- Corrected Canadian 20-hour student rule to current conditional 24 hours; added credential-specific PGWP language and field rules plus qualifying master’s exception.
- Removed guaranteed Canadian invitation and one-to-two-year PR narrative.
- Removed obsolete automatic Dutch 30% tax ruling and unverified salary figures.
- Corrected Irish two-year guarantee to conditional staged permission; removed automatic Stamp4/PR timing.
- Corrected Australia outdated graduate durations and ended select-degree extension; added age and named exceptions.
Review scope: legal and financial statements in this revised article. Recheck on a provider, professional, immigration or tax-rule change; reuse of dated figures requires a new check.
See recorded sources
- IRCC: PGWP duration and programme restrictions — Canada — federal. Page details 9 March 2026; masters provision dated 15 February 2024; checked 2 October 2026
- German federal portal: residence after university graduation — Germany. Current federal guidance checked 2 October 2026; effective date not stated
- IRCC: PGWP eligibility by credential — Canada — federal. Page details 24 June 2026; language change linked to applications from 1 November 2024; checked 2 October 2026
- IND: orientation year residence permit — Netherlands. Last update 16 September 2026; checked 2 October 2026; requirements presented as current, no separate effective date stated
- Ireland ISD: Third Level Graduate Programme — Ireland. Page last updated 28 March 2024; current page checked 2 October 2026; revised scheme covers awards notified from 1 January 2017
- Australia Home Affairs: Temporary Graduate changes — Australia — federal. Policy page titled changes from 1 July 2024; current embedded official page content captured 2 October 2026
- German federal portal: study visa and work conditions — Germany. Current federal guidance checked 2 October 2026; amount expressly valid for 2026
- IRCC: student off-campus work — Canada — federal. Page details 15 April 2026; checked 2 October 2026; current 24-hour rule, effective date not stated here
These primary references have the jurisdiction, product and scope stated above. A source link is not proof of personalised eligibility.
Find Your Best Study Destination
Explore recorded pathways and source links. This questionnaire does not determine eligibility or recommend a destination.
Get your free resultsVisa rules change every month.
Get the changes that matter for your move — one email a month, unsubscribe anytime.
About the author
António Mira is the founder of whereTOemigrate. For over a decade he has worked at the intersection of Portuguese real estate and overseas business, helping international clients navigate the cross-border decisions that come with relocating. He sits on the board of CCIAP (Portuguese-Arab Chamber of Commerce), the Portuguese-Saudi Business Council, and the Portugal-Hong Kong Business Association — always with one focus: enabling overseas business and human mobility into and out of Portugal.
How we verify our data · Editorial standards · About whereTOemigrate