VU country scene

Residence Visa - Self-Funded Resident

VanuatuLiving from your own income

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Is this aimed at retirees, pensioners, financially independent people, passive-income holders or another profile?

The Self-funded Resident category of the Vanuatu Residence Visa is for applicants who live on their own certified monthly income, with a higher figure required when a spouse or de facto partner is included.

See recorded sources

Which types of income/assets are accepted according to the official source?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm which types of income or assets are accepted.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The Live page only requires a 'certified income' (cited by r1/r3) and continuing income (cited by r4); it names no accepted sources (pension, investments, etc.) and no asset test.

What income, savings or financial-resources threshold applies and how does family affect it where officially specified?

The threshold is a certified income of at least 250,000 Vatu per month, rising to 500,000 Vatu per month if a spouse or de facto partner is included.

See recorded sources

Can the holder work locally, run a business or perform other economic activity? What is the family position?

The main applicant must continue to meet the required monthly income criteria. The official page is internally inconsistent on family: it says applicants can include their spouse and dependent children except those applying under the Self-Funded Resident category, yet it also sets a higher certified income of 500,000 Vatu per month if a spouse or de facto partner is included. The official source does not state whether the holder may work locally or run a business.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official source does not state whether the holder may work locally or run a business.
  • https://immigration.gov.vu/live/
    Self-funded Residence Visa: The main applicant must continue to meet the required monthly income criteria.
  • https://immigration.gov.vu/live/
    Applicants can include their spouse and dependent children in their visa application, except for those applying under the “Self-Funded Resident” category.
  • https://immigration.gov.vu/live/
    Self-funded Resident: Requires a certified income of at least 250,000 Vatu per month, or 500,000 Vatu per month if including a spouse or de facto partner.

How long is the status granted, what is required for renewal, what physical-presence obligations matter, and what longer-term residence direction exists?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the duration, renewal, physical-presence obligations and longer-term direction.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Not established: the correction failed a second independent check (NAO_SUSTENTA: Citation 'Applicants must either be Ni Vanuatu nationals, of Ni Vanuatu descent, or have resided...12 months' has no subject: it never names Permanent Residency or Subclass 131, so the PR 131 attribution is unproven by the citation (re-cite with the 'Subclass 131 Visa (Part A):' heading, as done in the PR r1 box).)

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results