AE country scene

Golden Residency — Public Investment

United Arab EmiratesInvestment

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What investment option or options qualify?

Qualifying public-investment options are a financial deposit of at least AED 2,000,000 with an investment fund or a national bank operating in the UAE; a UAE establishment or company with capital of at least AED 2,000,000; a partnership in an establishment or company with a financial share of at least AED 2,000,000; owning an establishment or company paying at least AED 250,000 annually in federal taxes; or a partner shareholding corresponding to at least AED 250,000 annually of the tax paid. The capital must be fully owned by the investor and not from a loan.

See recorded sources

What official minimum amount, tier or threshold applies to each relevant option?

The stated minimum is a capital of AED 2 million placed in a qualifying public investment. As a stated alternative under the same investor category, contribution to an establishment that pays the government at least AED 250,000 annually in taxes also qualifies. The official source does not state government fees.

See recorded sources

How long must the investment be maintained and what continuing ownership, investment or physical-presence conditions are important?

GDRFA Dubai states that withdrawal of the deposit or investment is not permitted throughout the Golden Residency period (10 years); for bank deposits an official bank certificate must show the deposit is frozen for at least two years; the Authority may take measures to ensure holders keep meeting the conditions throughout the permit's validity, and the financial deposit may not be refunded during the 10-year period. Golden Residence holders are exempt from the 180-day rule; the residency is void only if it expires while the holder is outside the country.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • These are GDRFA Dubai statements; a federal ICP statement of the maintenance period for public investments is not in the captured sources.
  • GDRFA gives both a two-year frozen-deposit certificate and a 10-year no-withdrawal rule; how they interact is not explained.

Which family members can be included where officially stated, and what broad residence/work rights result?

Holders of this Golden visa may sponsor family members, including spouses and children. The official source does not state the family members' work rights.

See recorded sources

What status is obtained, how is it renewed, what longer-term residence/citizenship direction is officially stated, and what happens to the investment when relevant?

The public-investment Golden visa is granted for 10 years and described as long-term and renewable. Holders do not need a sponsor, and may stay outside the UAE for longer than the usual six-month limit without losing the residence visa. The official source does not state a citizenship direction or what happens to the investment at the end of the residency.

See recorded sources

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results