TV country scene

Permit to Enter and Reside - Study

TuvaluStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

This route is a 'Permit to Enter and Reside' issued under Regulation 3(1)(c) of the Immigration Regulations, for study in Tuvalu.

See recorded sources

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the type of institution or course that must accept the applicant.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Searched the Regulations and Act for the type of institution or course required for a study Permit to Enter and Reside; Regulation 3(1)(c) says only 'study in Tuvalu' (certas R1); nothing further.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The applicant must provide evidence of financial capacity or a Form 6 sponsorship from a resident sponsor, and must show good health and character, compliance with the Act and a valid outward ticket or a paid bond covering repatriation costs. The official source does not state tuition, insurance, full-time study or attendance conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No tuition, insurance, full-time study or attendance condition is stated.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Work rights for students are not stated. The Principal Immigration Officer may attach conditions on the profession or occupation the holder may exercise and the employer(s) who may employ them, and the Minister may cancel a permit for unauthorised employment. The fee list sets a study fee of $300 for the principal applicant and $150 for each dependant.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Whether and how much a student may work is not stated.
  • That dependants can be included is an inference from the per-dependent fee, not an express rule.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

A study Permit to Enter and Reside may be granted for a maximum stay of one year and may be extended under Regulation 4(4), not more than three times in any five-year period unless the Minister certifies, on the Citizenship Committee's advice, that a further extension is in the national interest. The official source does not state a post-study work or residence route.

See recorded sources

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results