KN country scene

Citizenship by Investment - Public Benefit Option

Saint Kitts and NevisInvestment

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What investment option or options qualify?

The qualifying investment is a minimum contribution of US$250,000 to Approved Public Benefit Projects that foster economic growth and job creation in St. Kitts and Nevis.

See recorded sources
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/cbi-options/
    Contribute a minimum of **US$250,000** to Approved Public Benefit Projects that foster economic growth and job creation in St. Kitts and Nevis.

What official minimum amount, tier or threshold applies to each relevant option?

Public Benefit Option investment capital: at least US$250,000 for a unit in an Approved Public Benefit Project, paid to the Unit; the CIU page describes this amount for the main applicant or a family of up to four. For additional dependants, that page separately lists US$25,000 under age 18 and US$50,000 at age 18 or over under its “Post Approval Fees” heading. Government application charges: due diligence is US$10,000 for the main applicant and US$7,500 for each spouse or dependant aged 16 or over (Regulation 24(4)); processing is US$250 per applicant (Regulation 25). After approval in principle, Regulation 26 lists US$25,000 for the main applicant, US$15,000 for the spouse, US$10,000 for each dependant under 18, and US$15,000 for each dependant aged 18 or over; it lists US$30,000 to add a spouse or other qualified dependant after the main applicant’s approval in principle. The main applicant’s US$25,000 Public Benefit Option application fee is deducted from the US$250,000 investment sum, so it is not an additional US$25,000 on top of that minimum. SRO 43/2024 adds US$7,500 for a dependant child under three born after the main applicant’s citizenship certificate. Other due diligence, processing, agent and applicable dependant fees are separate from the investment minimum.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The CIU page’s US$25,000/US$50,000 “additional dependant” entries and the Regulation 26 post-approval dependant entries appear under distinct fee descriptions. The captured materials do not establish that the two schedules are cumulative for a particular additional family member or supply an individual total; confirm the applicable fee line with the Unit for that composition and timing.
  • SRO 43/2024 amends Regulation 26 by reference to an existing paragraph (f) absent from the captured SRO 20/2024 base text. Its full intervening wording and any further amendment to that paragraph are not established by these captures; this is not an exhaustive schedule for every later dependant addition.
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/sro-20-of-2024.pdf — Regulation 23(8)–(9)
    (8) Only Approved Public Benefit Projects shall qualify for this CBI Option. (9) A public benefit unit in an Approved Public Benefit Project shall qualify for Citizenship by Investment, if a minimum contribution of US$250,000 (Two Hundred and Fifty Thousand United States Dollars) is paid to the Unit by the main applicant.
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/sro-20-of-2024.pdf — Regulation 23(10)
    (10) The following sums shall be excluded from the minimum contribution— (a) International Marketing Agent commissions; (b) Authorised Agent fees; (c) advances to the main applicant or dependants of any nature; (d) financial returns, guaranteed returns, advances or any type of payments to the main applicant or dependants of any nature; (e) due diligence background check fees; (f) Post approval-in-principle CBI application fees, except as provided for in sub-regulation 26; (g) CBI application processing fees; and (h) any other commissions of any nature.
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/public-benefit-option/ — Contribution requirements
    Main Applicant or Family (up to four members): US$250,000 in a unit of an Approved Public Benefit Project to be paid to the Unit. Post Approval Fees: Each Additional Dependent under 18: US $25,000 Each Additional Dependent 18 years or over: US $50,000
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/sro-20-of-2024.pdf — Regulation 24(4)
    (4) The following non-refundable fees shall be paid to the Unit on every CBI application— (a) US$10,000 (Ten Thousand United States Dollars) for due diligence background checks and related processing fees for the main applicant. (b) US$7,500 (Seven Thousand Five Hundred United States Dollars) for due diligence background checks and related processing fees for each spouse or dependant of the main applicant who is aged sixteen years or over.
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/sro-20-of-2024.pdf — Regulation 25
    25. Application Processing Fee. A non-refundable application fee of US$250 (Two Hundred and Fifty United States Dollars) per applicant shall be paid to the Unit on every CBI application.
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/sro-20-of-2024.pdf — Regulation 26(a)–(e) and proviso
    26. Post Approval-in-Principle CBI Application Fees. The following application fees shall be paid to the Unit on every CBI application after approval-in-principle is granted by the Unit for all applications made in accordance with Part IV Developers Real Estate Investment Option, Part VI Private Real Estate Sale Investment Option, and Part VII Public Benefit Option, in addition to the due diligence fees prescribed in regulation 24(4) and the processing fees prescribed in regulation 25— (a) US$25,000 (Twenty-Five Thousand United States Dollars) for the main applicant; (b) US$15,000 (Fifteen Thousand United States Dollars) for the spouse of the main applicant; (c) US$10,000 (Ten Thousand United States Dollars) for each dependant child of the main applicant or other dependant under eighteen years of age, including each dependant child born after the CBI application is submitted to the Unit and before the date the Certificate of Registration is issued to the main applicant; (d) US$15,000 (Fifteen Thousand United States Dollars) for each dependant child of the main applicant or other dependant aged eighteen years or older; and (e) US$30,000 (Thirty Thousand United States Dollars) for addition of spouse or other qualified dependant after approval-in-principle of the main applicant. provided that the US$25,000 (Twenty-Five Thousand United States Dollars) application fee payable by a main applicant pursuant to the Part VII Public Benefit Option shall be deducted from the investment sum of US$250,000 and shall be paid to the Unit.
  • https://ciu.gov.kn/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/SRO-43-of-2024.pdf — SRO 43/2024 Regulation 11
    11. Amendment of Regulation 26. Regulation 26 is amended as follows by (a) deleting the expression, “and” that occurs immediately after paragraph (e); 3 (b) replacing the expression, “.” at the end of paragraph (f) with the following expression, “; and”; and (c) by adding a new paragraph (g) immediately after paragraph (f) as follows “ (g) US$7,500 (Seven Thousand Five Hundred United States Dollars) for the addition of each dependant child of the main applicant under three years of age and born after the date the Certificate of Registration is issued to the main applicant

How long must the investment be maintained and what continuing ownership, investment or physical-presence conditions are important?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm how long the investment must be kept and the continuing conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No maintenance duration or continuing conditions are mentioned in the captured official page.

Which family members can be included where officially stated, and what broad residence/work rights result?

The minimum contribution covers the main applicant or a family of up to four members; additional dependants under 18 and aged 18 or over can be added for extra contributions. The official source does not state the resulting residence or work rights.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page carries two different post-approval fee tables for dependants; amounts are not repeated here.
  • Resulting residence/work rights are not stated.

What status is obtained, how is it renewed, what longer-term residence/citizenship direction is officially stated, and what happens to the investment when relevant?

Successful applicants receive citizenship approval and a St Kitts and Nevis certificate of naturalisation, after which they can apply for a passport. The official source does not state renewal or what happens to the contribution.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Renewal and what happens to the contribution are not stated on the page.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results