RW country scene

K - Assured Income or Retiree Permit

RwandaLiving from your own income

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Is this aimed at retirees, pensioners, financially independent people, passive-income holders or another profile?

The DGIE describes K as a permit for a foreigner with assured income, including a retired foreigner who does not intend to be employed in Rwanda.

See recorded sources

Which types of income/assets are accepted according to the official source?

The page identifies assured income and lists a bank statement from a bank in Rwanda. It does not say which income or assets count, or set a balance threshold.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page names a Rwandan bank statement but does not enumerate eligible income or asset types.

What income, savings or financial-resources threshold applies and how does family affect it where officially specified?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm an income, savings or financial-resources threshold.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No monetary threshold or family adjustment is stated on the page.

Can the holder work locally, run a business or perform other economic activity? What is the family position?

For its retiree example, the DGIE describes a foreigner who does not intend to be employed in Rwanda. The page does not set out business rights or a rule for accompanying family.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not specify broader work/business rights or family treatment; the retiree description is not expanded into a general prohibition for every assured-income applicant.

How long is the status granted, what is required for renewal, what physical-presence obligations matter, and what longer-term residence direction exists?

K is listed as valid for up to two years. Renewal requires a retirement certificate, application letter, Rwandan bank statement for the six preceding months and local medical insurance. The official page states no physical-presence test or longer-term residence route.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not state a presence threshold or onward settlement route.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results