PT country scene

Residence Visa — independent work or immigrant entrepreneur (D2)

PortugalStarting a business

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Is this for a founder, startup entrepreneur, self-employed person, freelancer, company owner or another business profile?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the business profile this route is for.

What must actually exist or be demonstrated: business plan, company, innovation, clients, contracts, economic activity, job creation or other substance?

For independent professional activity, the applicant must provide a contract or written service-provision proposal for liberal professions and, if applicable, a declaration from the competent authorities certifying professional competence for the activity. Entrepreneurs must show investment operations executed. StartUP Visa applicants must provide a declaration from IAPMEI certifying the signing of an incubation contract with a certified incubator (Article 6 of Normative Order 4/2018).

See recorded sources

What investment, capital, income, revenue, funding or viability evidence is central to this pathway?

For entrepreneurs, investment operations must have been executed. The official source does not state an investment amount.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official source does not state the complete answer to this question for this route.

What business/self-employed activity may the holder conduct? Are there important restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the business activity the holder may carry out, its restrictions and the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Searched gov.pt D2 page (2f6440218eacf590.txt) and the vistos.mne residency page D2 section (b2b88a29deb92597.txt / 48cf311f26d6ed4e.txt): only who may apply and document lists (service contract, investment operations, IAPMEI startup declaration); nothing on permitted activity, restrictions or family.

What approval/application sequence applies, how long is the status granted, how is it renewed, and what longer-term residence direction is officially stated?

The residence visa (decided within 60 days) allows two entries and is valid for 4 months; during that time the holder must apply for a residence permit with AIMA. The temporary residence permit for professional activity is valid for two years from issue and renewable for successive three-year periods. The official source does not state a longer-term residence direction.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Longer-term residence direction not stated in these sources.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results