NG country scene

Retirement Visa (Retiree from Abroad) – N5B

NigeriaLiving from your own income

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Which types of income/assets are accepted according to the official source?

The official source lists 'Proof of importation of funds (bank statement)' and 'Proof of retirement income (pension payments, where applicable)' as requirements, indicating that imported funds and retirement income (pension payments) are accepted. It does not state whether other types such as savings, investments or property are accepted.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The source does not explicitly state that these are the only accepted types; it only lists them as requirements.
  • The source does not define what constitutes 'importation of funds' or specify acceptable forms of retirement income beyond pension payments.
  • The source does not mention other asset types such as savings, investments, or property.
  • Requirements
    Proof of importation of funds (bank statement)
  • Requirements
    Proof of retirement income (pension payments, where applicable)

What income, savings or financial-resources threshold applies and how does family affect it where officially specified?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the income or savings threshold and the family uplift.

Can the holder work locally, run a business or perform other economic activity? What is the family position?

The holder is not permitted to take employment and is permitted to reside in Nigeria only. Family/dependants apply for N6A, N6B, N6C and N6D for spouse, minors, adult children and aged parents respectively.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not state whether running a business or other economic activity is allowed.

How long is the status granted, what is required for renewal, what physical-presence obligations matter, and what longer-term residence direction exists?

The visa is valid for 90 days from issuance, and the residence permit gives a two-year stay with multiple entry. The page does not state renewal conditions, any physical-presence obligation, or a route to permanent residence or citizenship.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Renewal conditions, physical-presence obligations and any longer-term progression to permanent residence or citizenship are not stated on the captured NIS page.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results