NP country scene

Residential Visa for a Retiree or Non-Business Resident

NepalLiving from your own income

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Is this aimed at retirees, pensioners, financially independent people, passive-income holders or another profile?

The Residential Visa route covers a foreigner intending to live in Nepal without carrying on business; the official requirements also list proof of age 60 or retirement.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The capture does not establish complete renewal, family or longer-term residence details.

Which types of income/assets are accepted according to the official source?

The official requirements list a bank statement showing USD 20,000 and a regular income certificate of at least USD 20,000 per year, alongside other documents. The official source does not state whether other income or asset types are accepted.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The capture does not establish whether other asset or income types are accepted beyond the listed documents.

What income, savings or financial-resources threshold applies and how does family affect it where officially specified?

The official requirements state a bank statement of USD 20,000 and regular income of at least USD 20,000 per year; an expenditure statement of USD 20,000 is listed for renewal. The official source does not state how family members affect the threshold.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The capture does not specify how the threshold changes for family members.

Can the holder work locally, run a business or perform other economic activity? What is the family position?

This Residential Visa category is for a foreigner wanting to live in Nepal with no business. The official source does not state whether local employment or other economic activity is allowed, nor the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not state whether local employment or other economic activity is allowed, nor the family position.

How long is the status granted, what is required for renewal, what physical-presence obligations matter, and what longer-term residence direction exists?

Renewal requires an expenditure statement of USD 20,000; the renewal fee is USD 1,200 and renewal is processed the same day. The official source does not state the period for which the visa is granted, any physical-presence obligations or a longer-term residence direction.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The capture lists fees and processing but does not state the standard grant period, physical-presence obligations or longer-term direction.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results