KE country scene

Class A Permit - Prospecting and Mining

KenyaInvestment

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What investment option or options qualify?

The qualifying investment is in prospecting for minerals or mining in Kenya, alone or in partnership.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • the source states the qualifying activity, not a menu of qualifying investment options or asset types
  • chars 1380-1517
    This permit is issued to a person who intends to engage, whether alone or in partnership, in prospecting for minerals or mining in Kenya.

What official minimum amount, tier or threshold applies to each relevant option?

Proof of funds for investment of at least USD 100,000; government fees are separate: processing Kshs 20,000 (non-refundable) and issuance Kshs 500,000 per year, gratis for East African Community member states.

See recorded sources
  • chars 1370-1730
    - Proof of funds for investment at least (minimum USD 100,000) - Current license and copy of PIN certificate (for renewals) - Signed audited accounts for the last one year (for renewal - Certificate of registration of the organization Fee: Processing- Kshs. 20,000 non-refundable Issuance- Kshs. 500,000per year East Africa Community Member States – Gratis

How long must the investment be maintained and what continuing ownership, investment or physical-presence conditions are important?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm how long the investment must be kept and the continuing conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Read the fns infopack permits index and the Directorate of Immigration Services Class A page in full; neither states a holding period for the investment nor any continuing ownership or physical-presence condition. The Class A page only lists renewal paperwork (current licence, audited accounts), which is not a stated maintenance condition. The fns per-class page could not be fetched: TLS certificate of fns.immigration.go.ke expired 2026-09-11.

Which family members can be included where officially stated, and what broad residence/work rights result?

A Dependant's Pass is issued to the spouse and children of a work-permit holder. The official source does not state the residence or work rights it confers.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • the source does not state what residence or work rights the Dependant's Pass confers
  • the statement is generic to work-permit holders and does not name this permit class
  • chars 1676-1761
    Depedant’s pass for spouse and children of work permit and permanent resident holders

What status is obtained, how is it renewed, what longer-term residence/citizenship direction is officially stated, and what happens to the investment when relevant?

Holders of work permits for at least seven years who have been continuously resident in Kenya for the three years preceding the application may apply for permanent residence. The official source does not state the permit's validity, renewal rule or what happens to the investment.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • the source does not state the validity period or renewal rule of the Class A permit itself
  • the source does not state what happens to the investment on exit or on grant of permanent residence
  • chars 1214-1373
    persons holding work permits for at least seven (7) years and have been continuously resident in Kenya for three (3) years preceding making of the application;

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results