JP country scene

Permanent Residence — Highly Skilled Professional, 70 points

JapanLong-term residence

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What exact status does accumulated residence lead to?

Permanent Resident (Eijusha) status, granted through permanent residence permission under Article 22 of the Immigration Control Act (application to change to, or acquire, Permanent Resident status).

See recorded sources

What qualifying residence period is required and when does the period begin?

A person with 70 or more points under the Highly Skilled Professional points calculation who has resided in Japan continuously for 3 or more years as a 'highly skilled foreign professional' maintaining the required points.

See recorded sources
  • https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/resources/nyukan_nyukan50.html
    (6)出入国管理及び難民認定法別表第1の2の表の高度専門職の項の下欄の基準を定める省令(以下「高度専門職省令」という。) に規定するポイント計算を行った場合に70点以上を有している者であって、次のいずれかに該当するもの ア 「高度人材外国人」として必要な点数を維持して3年以上継続して本邦に在留していること。

Which types of residence count fully, partially or not at all where the official rules specify this?

Counts: residence as a person recognised with 70 or more points (a 'highly skilled foreign professional'); alternatively, residence also counts where the points calculation made as of 3 year(s) before the permanent residence application date shows 70 or more points and the person has resided continuously for 3 or more years with 70 or more points.

See recorded sources

What absence/continuity rules affect accumulation of the qualifying residence period?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the absence and continuity rules for the qualifying period.

What other major conditions apply, how is the status obtained, and what renewal, document-validity, retention or loss rules matter?

Other conditions are good conduct; sufficient assets or skills for an independent livelihood; no fine or imprisonment sentence and proper fulfilment of public obligations (taxes, public pension and health insurance contributions, Immigration Act notifications); currently staying with the longest period of stay for the current status (until 31 March of Reiwa 9 a 3-year period is treated as the longest); no public-health risk. Applications are made at the regional immigration office with jurisdiction over the place of residence; the fee is 10,000 yen if granted and standard processing takes 4 to 6 months. The official source does not state residence card validity or rules on loss or revocation of Permanent Resident status.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Renewal/validity of the residence card and rules on loss or revocation of Permanent Resident status are not stated in these sources.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Explore pathways in Japan →