IE country scene

Critical Skills Employment Permit — listed critical-skills occupation

IrelandTalent and merit

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Which exceptional-talent, academic, scientific, artistic, technological, cultural or other profiles does the pathway target?

Highly skilled occupations on the Critical Skills Occupations List that are strategically important and in significant shortage, e.g. ICT professionals, professional engineers and technologists.

See recorded sources

What achievements, recognition, awards, publications, reputation or other evidence establishes the required level?

For the listed Critical Skills occupation route, the authority requires a relevant degree or higher and minimum annual remuneration of EUR 40,904; EUR 36,848 applies where the qualification was received within the twelve months before application. Where the role is covered by a public-sector pay agreement, including Section 38 employers, that agreement sets the rate. Nurses and midwives may use a third-level degree or diploma accepted by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland for registration. The applicant must have the qualifications, skills and experience required for the job and a two-year offer.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • A separate awards or publications standard is not specified in these official criteria; no explicit universal awards waiver is claimed.
  • https://enterprise.gov.ie/en/what-we-do/workplace-and-skills/employment-permits/permit-types/critical-skills-employment-permit
    Occupations with a minimum annual remuneration of €40,904 for a restricted number of strategically important occupations contained in the Critical Skills Occupations List a relevant degree qualification or higher is required. Where the applicant has received their qualification within the 12 month period prior to the date of application for the employment permit, the minimum annual remuneration will be €36,848. Where the role is in the public sector and is covered by a public sector pay agreement (including Section 38 Employers), then the annual remuneration will be the rate of pay of that agreement. In the case of a nurse or midwife, a third level degree or diploma accepted by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland as a sufficient qualification for registration to practice as a nurse or midwife in the State.
  • https://enterprise.gov.ie/en/what-we-do/workplace-and-skills/employment-permits/permit-types/critical-skills-employment-permit
    The prospective employee concerned must have secured a 2-year job offer in respect of the eligible occupation from the prospective employer. Further criteria include: The prospective employee concerned must possess the relevant qualifications, skills and experience that are required for the employment.

Is an employer, nominator, recognised body, peer group or government endorsement required?

An employer is required: the applicant must have a job offer from a bona-fide employer based and trading in Ireland, and the employer must be registered with the Revenue Commissioners and, where applicable, the Companies Registration Office/Register of Friendly Societies.

See recorded sources
  • Criteria for eligibility section
    The Department of Enterprise, Tourism and Employment examines a number of criteria when assessing Critical Skills Employment Permit applications including a job offer from a bona-fide employer based and trading in Ireland and who is registered with the Revenue Commissioners and, where applicable, the Companies Registration Office/Register of Friendly Societies.

Can the holder change employer, work independently, establish a business or conduct other professional activity? What is the family position?

The permit covers employment with the named employer in the occupation and location stated on the permit, and the holder is expected to stay 9 months with the initial employer. Holders can apply immediately for family reunification, and resident dependants, partners and spouses may seek any employment via a free Dependant/Partner/Spouse Employment Permit. The official source does not state whether the holder may work independently or set up a business.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Source does not address self-employment or setting up a business.

What duration, renewal and accelerated or normal longer-term residence pathway is officially stated?

Issued only for a job offer of at least 2 years; on expiry holders apply directly to the Department of Justice for Stamp 4 (no permit renewal), granted for 2 years and renewable; after 60 months’ residence they may apply for long-term residence.

See recorded sources

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results