IR country scene

I - Investment Visa

IranInvestment

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What investment option or options qualify?

The qualifying mechanism is an investment permit approved by the Organization for Investment, Economic and Technical Assistance of Iran (OIETAI). The source does not state which specific investment vehicles or options (e.g. real estate, business capital, government bonds) qualify for that approval.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The specific investment option(s) that OIETAI approval can cover are not stated by this source.

What official minimum amount, tier or threshold applies to each relevant option?

Under the guidelines on granting a five-year residence permit to foreign depositors and investors, published by the Consulate General of Iran in Mumbai, the minimum amount to deposit or invest in order to receive a five-year residency for the applicant and dependents (up to five people) is US$100,000 or its equivalent in other currencies accepted by the Central Bank. If there are more than five dependents, the applicant must deposit or invest a further US$20,000 or its equivalent in other currencies accepted by the Central Bank for each extra person. The official source does not state a separate government fee.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official source does not state a separate government fee.

How long must the investment be maintained and what continuing ownership, investment or physical-presence conditions are important?

The I visa description does not state maintenance conditions. Under the guidelines on granting a five-year residence permit to foreign depositors and investors, published by the Iranian Consulate General in Mumbai, the deposit period must be at least equal to the length of the residence permit and can be extended under the guideline; the residence is revoked if the applicant does not invest in the approved plan within 6 months of the foreign investment permit being issued. Holders who meet the guideline have no limit on travelling abroad or returning to their homeland. The official source does not state a minimum physical-presence requirement.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The I visa description does not state maintenance conditions.
  • The official source does not state a minimum physical-presence requirement.

Which family members can be included where officially stated, and what broad residence/work rights result?

Under the guidelines on granting a five-year residence permit to foreign depositors and investors, the five-year residency covers the applicant and their dependents: spouse, male children under 18 years old, unmarried daughter and parents, up to five people for the US$100,000 minimum. If there are more than five dependents, a further US$20,000 or its equivalent is required for each extra person. Government and public bodies must provide five-year residence permit holders with public services such as health, medical and educational services, driving licences and domestic travel services for the duration of their legal stay. The official source does not state work rights for family members.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official source does not state work rights for family members.

What status is obtained, how is it renewed, what longer-term residence/citizenship direction is officially stated, and what happens to the investment when relevant?

The I visa description does not state the residence status obtained. Under the guidelines on granting a five-year residence permit to foreign depositors and investors, published by the Iranian Consulate General in Mumbai, qualifying depositors and investors receive a five-year residence permit. To extend it, the holder must send a request to the secretariat 3 months before the end of the period; if the permit is renewed, the holder can withdraw the interest on the deposit. The depositor can ask to cancel the residence permit six months before the end of the deposit period and, after approval by the commission, withdraw the deposit and transfer it abroad. The official source does not state a citizenship route.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The I visa description does not state the residence status obtained.
  • The official source does not state a citizenship route.
  • https://evisatraveller.mfa.ir/en/request/visa_types/
    I - Investment | Visa for foreign investors whose investment permit is approved by the Organization for Investment Economic and Technical Assistance of Iran.
  • https://mumbai.mfa.ir/en/NewsView/730310
    As per the most recent updates on the cabinet act, there are some guidelines on granting a five-year residence permit to foreign depositors and investors to be considered:
  • https://mumbai.mfa.ir/en/NewsView/730310
    a) If the applicant wishes to extend the residence permit period, he/she must send his/her request to the secretariat 3 months prior to the end of the period.
  • https://mumbai.mfa.ir/en/NewsView/730310
    c) If the applicant renews the residence permit, he/she can withdraw the interests from his/her deposit.
  • https://mumbai.mfa.ir/en/NewsView/730310
    11) The depositor can submit the original amount of the deposit along with the request to cancel the residence permit to the secretariat six months before the end of the deposit period, and after the approval of the commission, withdraw the amount of the deposit and transfer it abroad.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results