HK country scene

Immigration Facilitation Scheme for Invited Persons

Hong KongShort stays and visits

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

For the relevant traveller scope, is a visa, electronic authorisation, visa on arrival or no advance visa normally required?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm whether a visa, electronic authorisation, visa on arrival or no advance visa is normally required for invited persons.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • This bounded answer preserves a supported page statement; a full independent clause review is pending.

What short-visit purposes does this route cover?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm which short-visit purposes this scheme covers.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • This bounded answer preserves a supported page statement; a full independent clause review is pending.

What maximum stay, rolling-period rule, validity and entry rules apply?

The Invited Persons Scheme is an invitation-based facilitation scheme for invited persons from 11 ASEAN member states. For participants who need a visa, it provides a multiple-journey visit visa allowing a two-month stay per visit, and the invited-person status is valid for three years. Nationals of Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia and Singapore who already receive 90 days visa-free on each visit retain that period. Relevant HKSAR bureaux/departments notify the people they plan to invite; this is not an open self-enrolment invitation route. The scheme page describes stay per visit and does not state a separate cumulative or rolling-period cap. The actual permitted stay remains subject to the visit permission and usual entry arrangements; invited-person status validity is not itself permission to stay continuously for three years.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state a separate aggregate/rolling-period maximum across visits. Do not infer a rolling cap or an unlimited right to remain from the two-month per-visit facility or three-year invited-person status.

What important funds, accommodation, invitation, insurance, onward-travel or passport evidence may be required?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm which funds, accommodation, invitation, insurance, onward-travel or passport evidence may be required.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • This bounded answer preserves a supported page statement; a full independent clause review is pending.

Where/how is permission obtained when required, and under what important circumstances can a stay be extended or changed?

Applicants complete the application by filling in the online application form, and the Immigration Department (ImmD) informs them of the result by email within two weeks of receiving all the required documents and information. The official source does not state when a stay can be extended or changed.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • This bounded answer preserves a supported page statement; a full independent clause review is pending.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Explore pathways in Hong Kong →