EG country scene

Five-Year Multiple-Entry Visa

EgyptShort stays and visits

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

For the relevant traveller scope, is a visa, electronic authorisation, visa on arrival or no advance visa normally required?

A visa is needed in advance: the Washington DC consulate lists the five-year Entry Visa among its visa requirements and advises visa applicants (except listed nationalities) to get the visa in advance from the Egyptian consulate serving their state of residency. It is not available for Sudanese passport holders or applicants requiring pre-approval.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No full nationality matrix: the 'listed nationalities' exception is a link that was not captured.
  • Scope is the Washington DC consulate's jurisdiction; the MOI page (official_url) is blocked.
  • https://egyptembassy.net/consular-services/visas-travel/visa-requirements/
    Entry Visa (Valid for 5 years) Choose the purpose of travel (tourist or business for US and non-US passport holders) and provide listed documents above accordingly Fees: $707 cash or Cashier’s Check Only from a U.S. Bank payable to the Consulate of Egypt ( We DO NOT accept MONEY ORDER or PERSONAL CHECKS) Visa is multiple entry and valid for 5 years with a duration of stay of three months Visa is not available for Sudanese passport holders Visa is not available for applicants requiring pre-approval
  • https://egyptembassy.net/consular-services/visas-travel/visa-requirements/
    Visa applicants (except the listed nationalities here ) are advised to get the visa in advance from the Egyptian consulate that serves their state of residency.

What short-visit purposes does this route cover?

The five-year entry visa covers tourist or business travel: applicants choose the purpose of travel and provide the matching documents. The official source does not state other purposes.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Other purposes are not established by the captured official page.
  • embassy_visa
    Choose the purpose of travel (tourist or business for US and non-US passport holders) and provide listed documents above accordingly

What maximum stay, rolling-period rule, validity and entry rules apply?

The visa is multiple-entry and valid for 5 years, with a duration of stay of three months. The official source does not state whether the three months applies per entry or per rolling period.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not say whether three months applies per entry or per rolling period.

What important funds, accommodation, invitation, insurance, onward-travel or passport evidence may be required?

For the five-year multiple-entry visa, the official Egyptian Consulate instructions require the applicant to choose a tourist or business purpose and provide the corresponding documents listed above for US or non-US passport holders. Those application lists include a completed form and photo, a passport with an empty visa page and at least six months’ validity on arrival, round-trip ticket or itinerary, and hotel booking or host details. Business applicants also provide a company purpose/financial-guarantee letter and an Egyptian company or organisation invitation; non-US applicants are additionally asked for qualifying US residence or visa-status documents. These are consular application requirements in the stated jurisdiction, not a proven checklist of documents that every traveller must show on arrival.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The reviewed consular page cross-refers to tourist and business application lists but does not establish a universal on-arrival border-document checklist for every five-year visa holder or every consular jurisdiction. The fee is stated separately and is not treated as border evidence.

Where/how is permission obtained when required, and under what important circumstances can a stay be extended or changed?

Apply at the Egyptian Consular Section in Washington DC, which only accepts applications by mail or in person from the states it serves (Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington DC, West Virginia). The fee is $707, paid in cash or by cashier's cheque from a US bank. The visa is not available to Sudanese passport holders or to applicants requiring pre-approval. The official source does not state whether a stay can be extended or changed.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Extension or change of stay is not stated.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Explore pathways in Egypt →