CK country scene

Resident Investor Visa and Permit

Cook IslandsInvestment

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What investment option or options qualify?

The Resident Investor Visa and Permit is for a person without continuing rights who makes a direct investment in a Cook Islands business or enterprise and meets the related approval requirements.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

What official minimum amount, tier or threshold applies to each relevant option?

The minimum capital injection is NZD 1,000,000 for a business on Rarotonga and NZD 500,000 for the outer (Pa Enua) islands.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The IMI record is a secondary source and does not provide the official source for the threshold.
  • The threshold may be subject to change and should be verified against the current BTIB FAQ.

How long must the investment be maintained and what continuing ownership, investment or physical-presence conditions are important?

The investor permit is extendable for as long as the BTIB investment criteria continue to be met.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The IMI record does not specify a fixed maintenance period or continuing ownership conditions beyond BTIB criteria compliance.
  • The record is a secondary source and may not reflect current official requirements.
  • Physical-presence conditions are not specified in the supplied evidence.

Which family members can be included where officially stated, and what broad residence/work rights result?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm which family members can be included and the residence or work rights they receive.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The IMI record does not specify the exact family members eligible beyond spouse and child.
  • The record does not detail residence/work rights for family members.
  • The supplied evidence does not establish that spouses or children can be included under this investor route.
  • PROGRAM_CONTENT, program_overview
    A resident spouse permit runs three years (five for partners of Cook Islanders or permanent residents) and resident child permits three years

What status is obtained, how is it renewed, what longer-term residence/citizenship direction is officially stated, and what happens to the investment when relevant?

The permit provides residence under the route’s stated conditions and duration; the captured 2023 regulation does not state a citizenship route or a separate exit rule.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results