KY country scene

Permanent Residence after Eight Years - Points Route

Cayman IslandsLong-term residence

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What exact status does accumulated residence lead to?

This route is for a person who has been legally and ordinarily resident in the Cayman Islands for at least eight years, excluding the certificate-holder categories listed in section 37(1), and who seeks permission for themselves and approved family members to reside permanently.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The exact treatment of time that does not count as legal and ordinary residence is governed elsewhere and is not fully extracted here.
  • section 37(1), PDF text lines 1624-1640
    37. (1) Any person who has been, and is legally and ordinarily resident in the Islands for a period of at least eight years other than — (a) the holder of a Residency Certificate for Persons of Independent Means; (b) the holder of a Residency Certificate for Retirees; (c) the holder of a Certificate of Direct Investment or a Direct Investment Holder’s (Dependant’s) Certificate; (d) the holder of a Residency Holders (Dependant’s) Certificate; (e) the holder of a Certificate of Permanent Residence for Persons of Independent Means; or (f) a person who was granted permanent residence under any earlier law in circumstances analogous to paragraphs (a) or (b), may apply in the prescribed form and manner to the Board or the Director of WORC for permission for themselves, that person’s spouse or civil partner and that person’s dependants, if any, to reside permanently in the Islands and such application shall be accompanied by the prescribed application fee, issue fee, dependant fee and the annual fee with respect to the first year.

What qualifying residence period is required and when does the period begin?

The applicant must have been, and continue to be, legally and ordinarily resident in the Islands for a period of at least eight years. The official source does not state when the period begins.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured Act does not provide the current form, documentary checklist or fee amounts.
  • section 37(1), PDF text lines 1624-1640
    37. (1) Any person who has been, and is legally and ordinarily resident in the Islands for a period of at least eight years other than — (a) the holder of a Residency Certificate for Persons of Independent Means; (b) the holder of a Residency Certificate for Retirees; (c) the holder of a Certificate of Direct Investment or a Direct Investment Holder’s (Dependant’s) Certificate; (d) the holder of a Residency Holders (Dependant’s) Certificate; (e) the holder of a Certificate of Permanent Residence for Persons of Independent Means; or (f) a person who was granted permanent residence under any earlier law in circumstances analogous to paragraphs (a) or (b), may apply in the prescribed form and manner to the Board or the Director of WORC for permission for themselves, that person’s spouse or civil partner and that person’s dependants, if any, to reside permanently in the Islands and such application shall be accompanied by the prescribed application fee, issue fee, dependant fee and the annual fee with respect to the first year.

Which types of residence count fully, partially or not at all where the official rules specify this?

The residence must be legal and ordinary residence in the Islands. The route is not open to a holder of a Residency Certificate for Persons of Independent Means, a Residency Certificate for Retirees, a Certificate of Direct Investment or a Direct Investment Holder’s (Dependant’s) Certificate, a Residency Holders (Dependant’s) Certificate or a Certificate of Permanent Residence for Persons of Independent Means, or to a person granted permanent residence under an earlier law in circumstances analogous to the first two. The official source does not state whether other types of residence count partially or not at all.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The current detailed points schedule is not contained in the captured section.
  • section 37(2)-(3), PDF text lines 1641-1646
    (2) For the purpose of assessing the suitability of an applicant for permanent residence, a points system shall be prescribed by the Cabinet. (3) In considering an application for permanent residence under subsection (1), the Board or the Director of WORC upon applying the criteria set out in the points system shall only grant permanent residence to all applicants attaining one hundred and ten points or more.

What absence/continuity rules affect accumulation of the qualifying residence period?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the absence or continuity rules for the qualifying residence period.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Occupation changes require a certificate variation; the source does not establish unrestricted self-employment.
  • section 37(5), PDF text lines 1668-1678
    (5) Upon the grant of permanent residence, the Board or the Director of WORC shall issue to the successful applicant a Residency and Employment Rights Certificate, which Certificate shall entitle the holder — (a) to accept employment from any employer of that person’s choice; and (b) to have reside with that person such of that person’s dependants as were listed in that person’s application and were approved by the Board or the Director of WORC, but the Certificate shall restrict the holder to working within the particular occupation or occupations specified by the Board or the Director of WORC and such Certificate may be varied by the Board or the Director of WORC, but there shall be no entitlement to be self-employed.

What other major conditions apply, how is the status obtained, and what renewal, document-validity, retention or loss rules matter?

The route grants permanent residence. Suitability is assessed under a Cabinet-prescribed points system, and permanent residence may be granted only to applicants attaining at least one hundred and ten points. The application is made in the prescribed form and manner to the Board or Director of WORC with the prescribed application, issue, dependant and first-year annual fees. The holder must provide an annual declaration concerning the holder and dependants on the certificate anniversary or another date specified by the Board or Director of WORC, with the prescribed filing fee; failure is an offence and a ground for revocation.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured sources do not provide the operational declaration form or current fee amount.
  • 2025 Amendment Act, section 14 replacing section 37(12)-(12A), PDF text lines 667-684
    (12) The holder of a Certificate issued under subsection (5) or section 41 or 42 shall provide annually a declaration containing prescribed particulars in respect of the holder and the holder’s dependants — (a) on the anniversary of the date of issue of the Residency and Employment Rights Certificate; or (b) on the date that the Board or the Director of WORC may specify, and the declaration shall be accompanied by the prescribed fee for the filing of the declaration. c Act 14 of 2025 Page 17 Section 14 Immigration (Transition) (Amendment and Validation) Act, 2025 (12A) The failure of the holder of a Certificate issued under subsection (5) or section 41 or 42 to provide the declaration under subsection (12) is an offence and a ground for revocation of the Certificate.”;
  • section 37(2)-(3), PDF text lines 1641-1646
    (2) For the purpose of assessing the suitability of an applicant for permanent residence, a points system shall be prescribed by the Cabinet. (3) In considering an application for permanent residence under subsection (1), the Board or the Director of WORC upon applying the criteria set out in the points system shall only grant permanent residence to all applicants attaining one hundred and ten points or more.
  • section 37(1), PDF text lines 1624-1640
    37. (1) Any person who has been, and is legally and ordinarily resident in the Islands for a period of at least eight years other than — (a) the holder of a Residency Certificate for Persons of Independent Means; (b) the holder of a Residency Certificate for Retirees; (c) the holder of a Certificate of Direct Investment or a Direct Investment Holder’s (Dependant’s) Certificate; (d) the holder of a Residency Holders (Dependant’s) Certificate; (e) the holder of a Certificate of Permanent Residence for Persons of Independent Means; or (f) a person who was granted permanent residence under any earlier law in circumstances analogous to paragraphs (a) or (b), may apply in the prescribed form and manner to the Board or the Director of WORC for permission for themselves, that person’s spouse or civil partner and that person’s dependants, if any, to reside permanently in the Islands and such application shall be accompanied by the prescribed application fee, issue fee, dependant fee and the annual fee with respect to the first year.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Explore pathways in Cayman Islands →