BS country scene

Home Owner Resident Card

BahamasLiving from your own income

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Is this aimed at retirees, pensioners, financially independent people, passive-income holders or another profile?

The Home Owner Resident Permit is a residence permit issued under the International Persons Land Holding Act - Chapter 140 for people who lawfully own a primary residence in their country of origin and also own a habitable residence in The Bahamas.

See recorded sources
  • Page introduction
    The Home Owner Resident Permit is a type of Residence Permit that is issued in accordance with the International Persons Land Holding Act – Chapter 140 . This type of residence status facilitates the entry of persons who lawfully own a primary residence in their country of origin and also own a habitable residence in The Bahamas.

Which types of income/assets are accepted according to the official source?

The source works from property rather than income: the applicant must produce a registered deed of conveyance for a home in The Bahamas, an International Landholding Certificate, documentary proof of payment of current Real Property Tax, and evidence of a primary home outside The Bahamas such as home insurance, mortgage documents or a tax certificate.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not say whether pension, salary, investment or any other income is considered at all.
  • The page does not say whether savings or bank statements are required.
  • The page does not define 'habitable' or set any condition on the value or type of the Bahamian property.

What income, savings or financial-resources threshold applies and how does family affect it where officially specified?

No minimum property value, income or savings figure is set by law: section 11 of the International Persons Landholding Act entitles a non-Bahamian who owns a home in The Bahamas to apply for the annual home owner resident card, and the Director of Immigration issues it on being satisfied of that ownership, that the applicant is not a prohibited or otherwise undesirable person, and that the applicant is able to maintain himself and his dependants in The Bahamas. The official source does not state a family uplift.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • 'Able to maintain himself and his dependants' has no amount, no accepted income types and no method of proof in the Act; the Department's page asks for no bank statement or income document, so the practical test is unknown.
  • The Schedule fee for the card is printed in a table whose figures pdftotext separates from their labels (the column shows $250, $500 and $250 against three items); the card fee is therefore not asserted here, and the Department's $200 is described as a processing fee, not the card fee.
  • The requirement of a primary home outside The Bahamas and the Real Property Tax proof appear only on the Department's page, not in section 11; no family uplift or additional financial requirement for a spouse or children is stated anywhere.

Can the holder work locally, run a business or perform other economic activity? What is the family position?

The Home Owner Resident Permit is an annual permit. Under the replacement section 11 effective 1 July 2026, the Director may issue the principal permit to a qualifying non-Bahamian property certificate holder, a separate permit to the spouse, and a separate permit to each minor dependant child. Each permits entry and stay for its own duration, subject to the Immigration Act entry prohibitions. The 2026 Schedule lists annual fees of $1,000 for the principal and $500 each for a spouse and minor dependant child. Section 11 does not itself grant work or business rights. Immigration Act section 29 generally requires a citizen status, qualifying permanent residence certificate, work permit or specified ministerial category before gainful occupation; a Home Owner Resident Permit is not itself one of those express categories.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Whether a particular holder or family member also has a separate work permit or is within a ministerial exempt category is case-specific. This source set does not establish a distinct study entitlement or unlimited renewals.
  • https://laws.bahamas.gov.bs/cms/images/LEGISLATION/AMENDING/2026/2026-0027A/2026-0027A.pdf
    (1) This Act, which amends the International Persons Landholding Act (Ch.140), may be cited as the International Persons Landholding (Amendment) Act, 2026. (2) This Act shall come into force on the 1* day of July, 2026.
  • https://laws.bahamas.gov.bs/cms/images/LEGISLATION/AMENDING/2026/2026-0027A/2026-0027A.pdf
    “11. Home Owner Resident Permit. (1) A non-Bahamian to whom a certificate has been issued may apply to the Director for an annual Home Owner Resident Permit in respect of the purchase or acquisition of — (a) an interest in a condominium; (b) residence to be used as a foreign owner-occupied property; or (c) vacant land to be used for the construction of a residence to be used as a foreign owner-occupied property. (2) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the Immigration Act (Ch.191), the Director upon being satisfied that the applicant — (a) _ is the owner of the property and is the person to whom the certificate was issued; Page - 2 (3) (b) is not a member of a prohibited class of persons within the meaning of the Immigration Act; (c) is not otherwise undesirable within the meaning of the Immigration Act; and (d) is able to maintain himself and his dependants in The Bahamas, may issue a Home Owner Resident Permit to the applicant upon payment of the applicable fee specified in the Schedule.
  • https://laws.bahamas.gov.bs/cms/images/LEGISLATION/AMENDING/2026/2026-0027A/2026-0027A.pdf
    Where a Home Owner Resident Permit is issued to an applicant under subsection (2), the Director of Immigration may, in addition issue — (a) a separate permit to the spouse of the applicant, who shall be the secondary permit holder; and (b) a separate permit to each minor dependant child of the applicant, if any, and the applicant, the spouse and each minor dependant child shall be entitled to enter and remain in The Bahamas for the duration of the relevant permit, unless any of them is otherwise prohibited under the provisions of the Immigration Act from entry into The Bahamas.”.
  • https://laws.bahamas.gov.bs/cms/images/LEGISLATION/AMENDING/2026/2026-0027A/2026-0027A.pdf
    Part B of the Schedule to the principal Act is amended by the deletion of the words and figures “Fee for home owner’s annual resident card 250” and the substitution of the following — “Annual Home Owner Resident Permit issued to a $1,000.00 primary permit holder Annual Home Owner Resident Permit issued to a $500.00 secondary permit holder Annual Home Owner Resident Permit issued to a $500.00”. minor dependant child of a primary permit holder
  • https://laws.bahamas.gov.bs/cms/images/LEGISLATION/PRINCIPAL/1967/1967-0025/1967-0025.pdf
    29. (1) No person shall engage in any gainful occupation in The Bahamas unless — (a) he is a citizen of The Bahamas; (b) he is a permanent resident whose certificate of permanent residence permits him to engage in gainful occupation; (c) he is within either of the categories specified in paragraph (c) or (d) of subsection (1) of section 20; (d) he is in possession of a valid permit issued in accordance with the provisions of section 30 permitting him to engage in such occupation; (e) he is a person or within a category of persons whom the Minister has by order specified as entitled to engage in gainful occupation.

How long is the status granted, what is required for renewal, what physical-presence obligations matter, and what longer-term residence direction exists?

The card is annual. The permit can be renewed and the same application form is used for a renewal as for a first application. The official source does not state physical-presence obligations or a route to permanent residence or citizenship.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not state the validity period of the Home Owner Resident Permit.
  • The page states no physical-presence or minimum-stay obligation.
  • The page states no route from this permit to permanent residence or citizenship.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results